Breaking News

Government Announces Three Official Holidays For Eid-ul-Azha

Government Announces Three Official Holidays For Eid-ul-Azha

The federal government has officially announced three public holidays to celebrate Eid-ul-Azha, following the final approval by Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif. The holidays are scheduled from June 17 to June 19. With the addition of Saturday, June 15, and Sunday, June 16, which are regular public holidays, citizens will enjoy a total of five consecutive days off for the Eid-ul-Azha festivities.

Sources indicate that the Cabinet Division had previously submitted a proposal to the Prime Minister recommending the holidays from June 17 to June 19. The extended break aims to provide citizens ample time to celebrate Eid-ul-Azha with their families and communities, free from the immediate pressure of returning to work.

Read more: Pakistan Railways Cuts Eid-ul-Azha Fares By 25%

Similarly, Dubai has announced comparable holiday measures. All private schools, universities, and nurseries will be closed from Saturday, June 15, to Tuesday, June 18, and will reopen on Wednesday, June 19. The Dubai government has also declared holidays for government employees from June 15 to June 18, with work resuming on June 19.

Additionally, the UAE’s Federal Authority for Human Resources has announced paid leaves for the public sector from June 15 to June 18, in observance of Arafah Day and Eid Al Adha.

This extended period is expected to facilitate extensive family gatherings and community celebrations, marking the significant occasion of Eid-ul-Azha. The decision underscores the importance of allowing citizens to fully partake in the cultural and religious festivities without the constraints of work obligations.