Pakistan to host ICC Champions Trophy 2025

Web DeskDecember 16, 2023
Pakistan to host ICC Champions Trophy 2025

In a significant accomplishment, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) finalized the hosting rights agreement for the ICC Champions Trophy 2025 with the International Cricket Council (ICC) in Dubai on Friday. The signing ceremony took place at the ICC headquarters, with PCB Management Committee Chairman Zaka Ashraf and ICC General Counsel Jonathan Hall present.

As outlined in the cricket board’s statement, the PCB has already communicated the necessity for robust security measures to safeguard the visiting international teams during the Champions Trophy. Caretaker Prime Minister Anwaar-ul-Haq Kakar, in a recent meeting with the Chairman of the PCB Management Committee, pledged cooperation from security agencies to ensure the successful hosting of the ICC Champions Trophy in 2025.

Also Read: 2024 ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup schedule

This marks the return of the ICC Champions Trophy after an eight-year hiatus since its last occurrence in 2017. Notably, some Test-playing nations like Sri Lanka and West Indies did not participate in the previous edition, with Sri Lanka failing to secure a top-eight position in the ICC World Cup 2023 points table.

The 2025 ICC Champions Trophy will feature eight teams participating in the One Day International (ODI) format. The qualification process involved the top seven teams from the ICC ODI World Cup group stage, along with the host nation, Pakistan, securing their positions for the upcoming tournament.

The confirmed participating teams for the 2025 ICC Champions Trophy include Pakistan (hosts), India, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, Afghanistan, England, and Bangladesh.

Share This Post

News Guru

WEb logo-04 (1)

We strive to bring you the most comprehensive and up-to-date news from reliable sources. Our team of experienced journalists and writers are committed to delivering unbiased and factual news, with the highest levels of professionalism and integrity.

News Guru, 2024 © All Rights Reserved