Breaking News

Record Prize Money Announced for T20 World Cup 2024

Record Prize Money Announced for T20 World Cup 2024

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 is set to offer the highest prize money in the tournament’s history. With 20 teams competing over 28 days across nine venues in the West Indies and the USA, this ninth edition will be the largest of its kind.

Here are the prize details:

Winners: The champions will receive a record amount, the highest ever in the tournament’s history.

Runners-up: Will earn at least $1.28 million.

Losing semi-finalists: Each will take home $787,500.

Teams not advancing past the second round: Will receive $382,500 each.

Teams finishing between 9th and 12th place: Each will get $247,500.

Teams ranking from 13th to 20th place: Each will earn $225,000.

Bonus for match wins: Every team will receive an extra $31,154 for each match won, excluding the semi-finals and finals.

The tournament will begin with 40 matches in the first round, proceeding to the Super 8s, and concluding with the semi-finals in Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana. The final will take place at the Kensington Oval in Barbados, where the 2024 men’s champions will be crowned.

ICC Chief Executive Geoff Allardice highlighted the event’s significance, stating, “This event is historic in so many ways, so it is fitting that the prize money for players reflects that. Hundreds of millions of fans around the world will be entertained by the players in what we’re hoping to be an Out of This World event.”