Asia Cup 2023 Commentary Panel Announced

Web DeskAugust 19, 2023
Asia Cup 2023 Commentary Panel Announced

Ramiz Raja, former Pakistan captain, was not included in the commentary lineup for the upcoming Asia Cup, as revealed on Friday. The Pakistani commentary panel features Bazid Khan, Aamer Sohail, Wasim Akram, and Waqar Younis. Notable figures Ravi Shastri, Andy Flower, and Matthew Hayden are also part of the Asia Cup commentary team.

It’s worth noting that Raja recently resumed commentary during the Test series between Pakistan and Sri Lanka. He had been absent from the commentary scene since September 2021, when he became the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman for a three-year term. However, Raja, along with other PCB members, was removed after a year, replaced by a 14-member management committee led by Najam Sethi.

Read more : Asia Cup 2023 tickets now on sale

Raja was only the fourth former Pakistan international cricketer to lead the PCB, following Abdul Hafeez Kardar, Javed Burki, and Ijaz Butt. He captained Pakistan in 18 Tests and 12 ODIs, amassing 8,674 runs from 1984 to 1997.

Aside from his cricketing roles, Raja has served as the PCB Chief Executive (2003-2004), represented Pakistan on the ICC Chief Executives’ Committee, and currently sits on the MCC World Cricket Committee. He’s an acclaimed broadcaster and the recognized voice of Pakistan cricket.

The Asia Cup, scheduled in Pakistan and Sri Lanka, commences on August 30, concluding with the final on September 17.

Share This Post

News Guru

WEb logo-04 (1)

We strive to bring you the most comprehensive and up-to-date news from reliable sources. Our team of experienced journalists and writers are committed to delivering unbiased and factual news, with the highest levels of professionalism and integrity.

News Guru, 2024 © All Rights Reserved